Wednesday, May 18, 2005

11 states say "no 'mo marriage"

What better way to get folks to the polls during an "off year" election than to appeal to a person's needs to feel morally superior to another. Yesterday, eleven states voted to make sure same-sex participants in sexual immorality don't erode the sacred and only acceptable idea of marriage the same way good Christian folks do.

Despite the fact that SSM was already banned in the states, voters in the following approved a measure to amend the state constitution to define marriage as a union of one man and one woman:
  • Arkansas
  • Georgia
  • Kentucky
  • Mississippi
  • Utah (including specific language not to recognize legal SSM performed in another state)
Other states voting No to Mo:
  • Montana had already defined marriage as a union between a man and a woman, but amended their state constitution to avoid "activist judges" from pointing out the law was unconstitutional (thereby verifying the definition of "activist judge" to mean a judge that follows the rule of law instead of the rule of religion)
  • North Dakota not only limited marriage rights to heterosexual couples, they now restrict previously afforded rights of civil union that gave homosexual couples many of the same rights as heterosexual married couples
  • Ohio banned not only SSM, but also prohibited granting of legal rights via civil union regardless of whether a couple is gay or straight
  • Oklahoma voted to ban SSM and send extremely rational Tom Coburn to Washington as an example of a conscientious Okie
  • Michigan & Oregon also voted to ban SSM (though the latter may consider allowing pharmacists to dispense EC without a prescription)

Tag:; ;

Sphere: Related Content

No comments: